comedy competition

Each spring Rooster T. Feathers is proud to host an Annual New Talent Comedy Competition.  It starts with a total pool of over 150 amateur comedians. The audience votes for their favorites at each show, advancing them to the semifinals and finals, and ultimately picks the funniest local comedian. The top finalists compete for cash prizes and a week of paid emcee work at Roosters. All competition shows feature a professional emcee and headliner.

Past Winners


1st place

2nd place

3rd place

17th Annual (2019)

Brooke Heinichen

Arjun Banerjee / Marcus Mangham (Tied)

16th Annual (2018)

Hannah Evensen

Jeremy Talamantes

Geneva Rust-Orta / Ryan Goodcase (Tied)

15th Annual (2017)

Emily Catalano

Frankie Marcos

Caroline Doyle

14th Annual (2016)

Terrell "Big-T" Butler

Shannon Murphy

Marks Smalls

13th Annual (2015)

TJ Kelsall

Steve Poggi

Danny Allen / Joey Avery (Tied)

12th Annual (2014)

Kiry Shabazz

Mean Dave

Michael Montgomery

11th Annual (2013)

Matt Lieb

Torio VanGrol

Ori Zadok

10th Annual (2012)

Keon Polee

Susan Maletta

Raymond Santos

9th Annual (2011)

Shanti Charan

Nick Aragon

Duncan Riach

8th Annual (2010)

Red Scott

Joey Bragg / Dave Thomason (Tied)


7th Annual (2009)

Kabir Singh

Kevin Munroe

Rad Reyes

6th Annual (2008)

Sammy Obeid

Keil Kennedy

Mike Lemcke

5th Annual (2007)

Mari Esther Kaplan

Marty Grimes

Ellery Urquart

4th Annual (2006)

David van Avermaete

Sam Bamm

Ali Mafi / Debbie Campo (Tied)

3rd Annual (2005)

Michael Slack

Jen Kober

Dave McRea

2nd Annual (2004)

Mike E. Winfield

Jimmy Gunn

Dan Anic

1st Annual (2003)

Reggie Steele

Tim Babb

George Corrigan






The comedy competition shows are held most Wednesdays beginning in February, and culminating in early May. Sign-ups begin in early December for the following February to May season. Participants must be from the San Francisco/San Jose Bay Area (3-hour radius of Sunnyvale please) to qualify.  For more information and to sign-up, email here.


Must be 21 with valid ID ~ 2-item minimum purchase applies ~ No longer accepting reservations
408.736.0921 ~ 157 W. El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087 ~ info@roostertfeathers.com
map & directions ~ specials ~ privacy policy ~ terms of use ~ home

We proudly recommend Sunnyvale's Wild Palms Hotel for your out-of-town guests or a weekend getaway – A colorful oasis in Silicon Valley. Be sure to visit our online partner, Stand Up Santa Cruz, your comedy guide to stand up in Santa Cruz and beyond...

Wild Palms Hotel        Stand Up Santa Cruz

© Rooster T. Feathers Comedy Club 2019 ~ all rights reserved